Four Indian scientists receive William Harvey Award 2015

Four Indian scientists from the Aligarh based Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College (JNMC) under Aligarh Muslim University have jointly awarded the prestigious William Harvey Award 2015.
They were selected for this award in the field of Hematology for their work in the rare Hemoglobin C (Hb C) disease.
Recipients of Award are

  • Saeedul Hasan Arif
  • Kafeel Akhtar.
  • Shagufta Qadri.
  • Suhailur Rahman.

Hemoglobin C disease
This disease is widely prevalent in West African and Mediterranean countries and not common in the Indian sub-continent. Those afflicted from this disease suffer nutritional anaemia and do not respond to the treatment.

About William Harvey Award

The award is named for scientist William Harvey (1578- 1657). It is given by the American Society of Hypertension.
Mr. Harvey has pioneered in development of first accurate account of how the heart and circulatory system operated.




Latest E-Books