India, UK institutions ink agreement for collaboration in Crop Sciences

Department of Biotechnology in the Union Ministry of Science and Technology has signed a MoU with a consortium of top United Kingdom (UK) research institutions for joint India-UK collaboration programme in crop science.
The consortium UK research institutions included representatives from Cambridge based National Institute for Agricultural Botany (NIAB), John Innes Centre, Norwich based University of East Anglia and Rothamsted Research Institute.
Key facts

  • The aim of the MoU is to promote knowledge exchange, enhance collaborative research and support capacity building to develop resilience in food security.
  • It foresees joint projects focusing on the fundamental science underpinning yield enhancement, drought resistance and disease resistance.
  • It also seeks to enhance research collaboration into crop re-breeding and translation of fundamental research into sustainable agriculture practice.
  • The MoU also contemplates the establishment of a joint Indo-UK Plant Science Centre in India.



Latest E-Books