India suffered worst ODI series defeat against New Zealand

Indian cricket team slumped to its worst ODI series defeat in New Zealand.  New Zealand won the series by 4-0 in Wellington by thrashing India by 87 runs in the fifth and final ODI.
It’s 5th time that India have not won a match in a five-match (or more) bilateral series. Last time they failed to win even a single match in a bilateral series involving five or more matches, was in England in 2011, when they lost three matches, tied one and one game was abandoned.

  • Including this defeat, India has now gone without a win in seven consecutive ODIs that have ended in a result.
  • This is only the third time New Zealand have finished unbeaten in a series in which they have played five or more matches.
  • New Zealand player, Kane Williamson became only the second batsman in ODIs to hit fifty-plus scores in all the matches of a five-match series. Before that, Pakistan’s Yasir Hameed hit four fifties and a century in a five-match series against New Zealand in 2003-04, is the other batsman to achieve this feat. 

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni became the fourth fastest batsman to complete 8,000 runs in one-day cricket during the fifth and final ODI against New Zealand in Wellington. The three men ahead of him in the list are famous compatriots Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly and the West Indian legend Brian Lara. Dhoni has taken 214 innings to touch the landmark.



Latest E-Books