Government signs peace pact with Naga insurgent group NSCN

According to Ministry of Home Affairs, Central Government inked a ceasefire agreement with the National Socialist Council of Nagaland (NSCN) Khaplang (K), led by Nikki Sumi. This peace pact was signed on September 8, 2021 and will be in force for one year.


  • According to Ministry, with the signing of the peace agreement, about 200 cadres of NSCN group along with 83 weapons have joined the peace process.
  • The agreement was signed between Additional secretary (Northeast) in MHA, Piyush Goyal, and representatives of NSCN (K) Niki along with supervisor of ceasefire supervisory board and a CFSB member.


Nikki Sumi had expressed his willingness to sign the ceasefire agreement with the government in December 2020. However, he was not able to present to sign the deal because of ill health.

Why peace pact was needed?

According to Ministry of Home Affairs, this peace process was signed with the aim of fulfilling Prime Minister Modi’s vision of ‘insurgency free and prosperous North East. It will also be a significant step for the Naga peace process.

Pact between Government and other factions of NSCN

Central Government has also signed peace pact with other factions of National Socialist Council of Nagaland- NSCN (NK), NSCN (R), and NSCN (K)- Khango.

Naga Peace Accord

The framework agreement for Naga Peace Accord was inked between Central Government and NSCN (IM) group on August 3, 2015. Before this framework agreement, NSCN (K) had revoked the peace pact with the government in March 2015. This pact was signed to end the insurgency in Nagaland.




Latest E-Books