Six Forts of Rajasthan get entry into World Heritage List

The World Heritage Committee which recently held its meeting in Cambodia has announced the international recognition to six Forts of Rajasthan by including them in the list of World Heritage Site of UNESCO.

The six majestic forts include:

  1. Amber (Jaipur)
  2. Kumbhalgarh
  3. Chittorgarh
  4. Jaisalmer
  5. Ranthambhore (Sawai Madhopur)
  6. Gagaron (Jhalawar)

What is their importance, according to UNESCO?

As per UNESCO, these forts enclosed within them major urban centres, palaces, trading centres that often predate the fortifications within which developed a refined courtly culture. Some of these urban centres have survived, as have many of the site’s temples and other sacred buildings. The forts use the natural defenses offered by the landscape – hills, deserts, rivers, and dense forests. They also feature extensive water harvesting structures, largely still in use today. The hill forts of Rajasthan are strategically built and located on the oldest mountain range of the Aravallis or the Vindhyan range. They stand as testimony to the formation of princely states, development of Rajput ideologies and Rajput architectural style over successive periods, myriad political conflicts, battles and alliances between the ruling Rajput clan vis-a-vis the Sultanate period rulers and Mughal Emperors of Central India. The hill forts represent the genius of Rajput Military architecture – built in local stone masonry tracing the development of the fort typology and evolution of Rajput architectural style from the 15th to the 19th century. The Rajput Forts of Rajasthan reflect the continuity of the Hindu Architectural tradition in secular structures.



Latest E-Books