East zone wins Deodhar trophy 2014-15

East Zone has won the Deodhar Trophy 2014- 15, a cricket tournament, by beating West Zone by 24 runs. The final match was held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. East Zone won the toss and opted to bat first. East zone captain was Manoj Tiwary while West Zone was led by Yusuf Pathan.
Score: East Zone 269 for 8 in 50 overs beat West Zone 245 in 47.2 overs.
About Deodhar Trophy

  • Deodhar Trophy is a List A cricket competition in Indian domestic cricket.
  • It is named after Prof. D. B. Deodhar who is known as the Grand Old Man of Indian cricket. The competition was introduced in 1973-74 season. The first trophy was won by South Zone.

Match format: It is a 50-over knockout competition played on an annual basis among the 5 zonal teams – North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone. Two teams play in a quarter-final match, with the winner progressing to the semi-finals, met with the remaining 3 teams. From then, it is a simple knockout tournament. North Zone has won this trophy with a record of 13 times.



Latest E-Books