Former Delhi Police Commissioner BS Bassi appointed UPSC member

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed former IPS officer Bhim Sain Bassi as a member of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) as per provisions of Article 316 of Constitution.
He will hold the constitutional post till February 2021 i.e. maximum tenure of six years or till he attains the age of 65 years.

About BS Bassi

  • He was an Indian Police Service (IPS) officer of 1977 batch of Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territory (AGMUT) cadre.
  • He had started his career as an Assistant Superintendent of Police in Pondicherry and retired as Delhi Police chief in February 2016.
  • During his career spanning over 38 years he had held several important positions like Delhi Police Commissioner, Delhi Police Special Commissioner (Traffic), Delhi Police Special Commissioner (Vigilance), Inspector General of Chandigarh and DGP, Goa Police.

About Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

  • UPSC is constitutional body which conducts the prestigious civil services examination to select IAS, IFS and IPS officers among others.
  • It has been established under Article 315 of the Constitution and consists of a Chairman and ten Members; appointed and removed by President.
  • The chairman and members of the Commission hold office for a term if six years or until they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.
  • Present Composition of UPSC: Deepak Gupta (Chairman). Other members include Alka Sirohi, Manbir Singh, David R Syiemlieh, former Navy Vice Chief DK Dewan, Chhatar Singh, Prof Hem Chandra, Vinay Mittal, Arvind Saxena and Prof Pradeep Kumar Joshi.



Latest E-Books