Ramon Magsaysay Award

2022 Ramon Magsaysay Award recipients

Ramon Magsaysay Awards were announced recently. This year the award will go to Sothiara Chim, Psychiatrist (Cambodia), Tadashi Hattori, Ophthalmologist (Japan), Bernadette Madrid, Pediatrician (Philippines) and Gary Bencheghib, activist and filmmaker (Indonesia). Sothiara Chhim, Psychiatrist (Cambodia) Sothiara Chhim, a 54-year-old ..



Vaccine scientist Dr Firdausi Qadri wins Ramon Magsaysay Award

Bangladeshi scientist, Dr Firdausi Qadri, won the Ramon Magsaysay Award. Who is Dr Firdausi Qadri? Dr Qadri is an emeritus scientist at the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh (icddr,b). She is also a laureate of the 2020 L’Oréal-Unesco ..


P. Sainath awarded 2021 Fukuoka Prize

Noted journalist, P. Sainath, was selected as one of the three recipients of Fukuoka Prize 2021. Key Points Sainath will receive ‘Grand Prize’ of Fukuoka Prize. Academic Prize will go to Prof. Kishimoto Mio of Japan. Prize for Arts & ..


Asia’s Nobel Prize-Ramon Magsaysay Awards cancelled

A Manila, Philippines based foundation that gives out Ramon Magsaysay Award announced that the awards are being cancelled due to COVID-19. Highlights The Ramon Magsaysay Award has been cancelled thrice in 6 decades. The awards were cancelled for the first ..

Ravish Kumar wins 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award

Indian journalist Ravish Kumar (44) of NDTV news channel was chosen for 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award. He has been given this prestigious award in recognition for harnessing journalism to give voice to voiceless. He is among 5 individuals who were ..

Ravish Kumar honoured with prestigious 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award

NDTV India’s senior executive editor, Ravish Kumar has been honoured with the prestigious 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award for his ‘ethical journalism’. Kumar has won the honour for his news show, Prime Time, which deals with real-life & under-reported problems of ..