Nobel Prize in Literature

Who is Kenzaburō Ōe?

Kenzaburō Ōe, the Nobel Prize-winning Japanese author, passed away on March 10, 2023, at the age of 88. His death marks the end of an era in Japanese literature, as Ōe was widely regarded as one of the most important ..



2022 Nobel Prize in Literature

French author Annie Ernaux recently received Nobel Peace Prize in Literature. Key facts Annie Ernaux, whose works are mostly autobiographical, received the Nobel Prize for Literature in recognition of her courage and clinical acuity with which she exposes her life ..



Nobel Prize in Literature, 2020

The Nobel Prize, 2020 was awarded to Louise Gluck for her poetry. She is the first female poet to win the prize since Wislawa Szymborska in 1996. Though Olga Tokarczuk and several other women have received the prize in literature ..


Peter Handke authors book “A Sorrow Beyond Dreams”

Austrian author Peter Handke has been honoured  with the 2019 Nobel Prize in literature for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience. His notable works include “Short Letter, Long Farewell” ..

Olga Tokarczuk awarded Nobel Prize in Literature for 2018

Polish author Olga Tokarczuk has won the 2018 Nobel Prize in literature for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life. Her first novel, “The Journey of the People of the ..

2018 New Academy Prize in Literature

Maryse Conde, a French (Guadeloupean) author of historical fiction, has won the 2018 New Academy Prize in Literature, which is formed in protest to the Nobel Literature Prize. Conde will win about £87,000 raised from crowdfunding and donations, and will ..