Statue of Unity included in 8 Wonders of SCO; SCO heads meet: first time in India

The Statue of Unity that was inaugurated by PM Modi in October 2018 has been included in 8 wonders of SCO (Shanghai Cooperation Organization). The statue was a monumental tribute to Sardar Vallabhai Patel.

About the Statue

The Statue was inaugurated on the 143rd birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhai Patel. It is the world’s tallest statue. In one year, since its inauguration, it attracted 2.9 million tourists and earned 82 crores of rupees.

What are the Eight Wonders?

The Wonders of SCO include archaeological and historical monuments of SCO. It includes

  • Statue of Unity in India
  • Daming Palace in China
  • Navruz Palace in Tajikistan
  • Mughals Heritage in Pakistan
  • Tamgaly Gorge in Kazakhstan
  • Po-i-Kalan Complex in Uzbekistan
  • The Golden Ring of Russia
  • Lahore, the Mughals heritage in Pakistan

SCO Heads Meet

For the first time, India is hosting heads of Government meet of SCO countries. All the government heads of eight SCO countries India, Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan will attend the meeting. However, there are possibilities for Pakistan to skip the meet.

Amidst highest tensions between India and Pakistan, Pakistan PM Imran Khan is expected to skip the meet. The countries however participated in SCO military exercise hosted by Russia.

SCO is an economic bloc in which India and Pakistan became members in 2017.




Latest E-Books