Statehood Day of Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya

The people of the three North-eastern states- Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura celebrated their Statehood Day on January 21. On the same day in 1972, these three states became full-fledged states under the North Eastern Region (Reorganisation) Act, 1971. This year, the states celebrate their 48th Statehood day.

Many National Leaders including the Prime Minister and the President expressed their wishes to the states on their Statehood day and greeted the cultural heritage and traditions of the North-Eastern states. The Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi through his social media twitter account greeted the people of the three states in three individual tweets. Cultural events and programs were organized at the state capital of Meghalaya, Shillong which was attended by the Chief Minister of the state, Conrad K Sangma in which he gave away the Meghalaya Day award to the state government employees. During the day, similar events were conducted in Manipur and Tripura, both states were merged into the Indian Union in 1949, and became a fully-fledged state in 1972.



Latest E-Books