Sites Identified for ‘National importance’ Tag

According to Union Culture Minister G Kishan Reddy, 20 heritage sites have been identified for National importance tag. These sites also include 2 ancient mounds at Rakhigarhi in Haryana and age-old Anangtal in Delhi in the last 3 years.

Other identified sites include;

  • Rock painting at Chintakunta in Andhra Pradesh
  • Rock art site Murgi at Rdanag in Leh
  • Kaleshwar Mahadev Temple at Kalesar (Manyala Panchayat) in Himachal Pradesh.
  • Seven mounds (RGR 1-RGR 7) dispersed across Rakhi Khas village and Rakhi Shahpur village in Hisar, Haryana. These mounds are part of Rakhigarhi archaeological site of Harappan era. RGR 7 is a cemetery site, which was a well-organised city.
  • The Rakhigarhi site is among the “five iconic sites” that was declared by central government in the Union budget 2020-21.

Besides these sites, 55 monuments sites in Assam have been declared protected under Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958. 3 monuments in Mizoram have identified to be declared the monuments of national importance in last five years.  The Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) has given Rs 15 crore for 2022-23, to protect and preserve the centrally-protected monuments in Tamil Nadu. During 2017-18 to 2021-22, 13 state and 50 societies, autonomous bodies, trusts & local bodies have been provided financial assistance to establish and develop museums in accordance with Museum Grant Scheme.




Latest E-Books