Schedules of Indian Constitution

Schedules are lists in the Constitution of India that categorize and tabulate bureaucratic activities and policy of the Government. Indian Constitution had originally eight schedules. The 9th schedule was added via First Amendment Act, while 10th Schedule was first added by 35th Amendment {Sikkim as Associate State}. Once Sikkim became a state of India, the 10 Schedule was repealed but later added once again by 52th Amendment Act, 1985 in context with the “Anti-defection” law. Here is a brief description of the schedules of Indian Constitution:

First Schedule

First schedule lists the states and territories on of India; lists any changes to their borders and the laws used to make that change.

Second Schedule

Second schedule lists the emoluments for holders of constitutional offices such as salaries of President, Vice President, Ministers, Judges and Comptroller and Auditor-General of India etc.

Third Schedule

This schedule lists the various forms of oath for holders of various constitutional offices.

Fourth Schedule

Fourth schedule enumerates the allocation of Rajya Sabha seats to States or Union Territories.

Fifth Schedule

This schedule enumerates administration and control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes (areas and tribes needing special protection due to disadvantageous conditions).

  • Scheduled Areas are autonomous areas within a state, administered federally, usually populated by a predominant Scheduled Tribe.
  • Scheduled Tribes are groups of indigenous people, identified in the Constitution, struggling socio-economically
Sixth Schedule

This schedule comprises provisions for the administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram. Read this article in detail about sixth schedule.

Seventh Schedule

This schedule has divided the Union and State subjects on which they can make laws. It comprises Union List, State List and Concurrent List.

Eighth Schedule

This schedule lists the official languages of the Union.

Ninth Schedule

This schedule enumerates land and tenure reforms; the accession of Sikkim with India.

Tenth Schedule

This schedule comprises anti-defection provisions for Members of Parliament and Members of the State Legislatures.

Eleventh Schedule

It was added by 73rd amendment and has list of subjects under the Panchayat Raj institutions or rural local government.

Twelfth Schedule

It was added by 74th amendment and enlists the subjects under Municipalities or urban local government.


Apart  from the schedules, there are some appendices also to the Constitution of India.

  • Appendix I – The Constitution (Application to Jammu and Kashmir) Order, 1954
  • Appendix II – Re-statement, referring to the constitution’s present text, of exceptions and modifications applicable to the state of Jammu and Kashmir
  • Appendix III – Extracts from the Constitution (Forty-fourth Amendment) Act, 1978
  • Appendix IV – The Constitution (Eighty-sixth Amendment) Act, 2002
  • Appendix V – The Constitution (Eighty-eighth Amendment) Act, 2003

Latest E-Books