Pulitzer Prize 2022- Winners

On 9th May 2022, the winners of the Pulitzer Prize 2022 in Drama, Journalism, Music, and Books were announced. The winners include Indians Irshad Matto, Amit Dave, Adnan Abidi, and late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters in the category of Journalism.

The journalists of which country received a special citation?

The journalists from Ukraine who are working effortlessly to bring out the reports of the ongoing war were recognized with a special citation.

Who are the winners of the Pulitzer Prize 2022 in Journalism?

  • Public Service- The Washington Post received this award for its coverage of the assault on the Capitol on 6th January 2021.
  • Investigative Reporting- Rebecca Woolington, Corey G. Johnson, and Eli Murray of the Tampa Bay Times received the award for their role in exposing highly toxic hazards inside Florida’s only battery recycling plant.
  • Breaking News Reporting- The Miami Herald Staff’s received this award for their coverage of the collapse of Florida’s Seaside apartment towers.
  • Local Reporting- Chicago Tribune’s Cecilia Reyes and Better Government Association’s Madison Hopkins received this award.
  • Explanatory Reporting- The Staff of the Quanta Magazine, mainly Natalie Wolchover received this award for their reporting on the working of the Webb Space Telescope.
  • International Reporting- The New York Times Staff received this prize.
  • National Reporting- The New York Times Staff received this prize.
  • Commentary- Kansas City Star’s Melinda Henneberger won this award.
  • Feature Writing- The Atlantic’s Jennifer Senior won this award.
  • Editorial Writing- The Houston Chronicle’s Michael Lindenberger, Lisa Falkenberg, Luis Carrasco, and Joe Holley won this award.
  • Criticism- The New York Times’s contributing critic Salamishah Tillet won this prize.
  • Breaking News Photography- Los Angeles Times’s Marcus Yam received this prize for the images of the departure of the US from Afghanistan. Getty Images’s Drew Angerer, Win McNamee, Samuel Corum, Spencer Platt, and John Cherry won this award for their photos of the attack on the US Capitol.
  • Illustrated Reporting and Commentary- Insider’s Anthong Del Col, Fahmida Azim, Walt Jockey, and Josh Adams won this prize.
  • Audio Reporting- The staff of PRX and Futuro Media won this award for ‘Suave.’ It talks about a man who is re-entering society after spending over 30 years in Prison.
  • Feature Photography- Sanna Irshad Mattoo, Adnan Abidi, Amit Dave along with Late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters won this prize for their images of India’s COVID toll.

Who are the winners of the Pulitzer Prize 2022 in Drama, Books, and Music?

  • Drama- “Fat Ham” written by James Ijames.
  • Fiction- “The Netanyahus: An Account of a Minor and Ultimately Even Negligible Episode in the History of a Very Famous Family” written by Joshua Green.
  • Biography- “Chasing Me to My Grave: An Artist’s Memoir of Jim Crow South” written by late Winfred Rembert as told to Erin. I Kelly of Bloomsbury.
  • History- “Covered with Night” written by Nicole Eustace (Norton/ Liveright) and “Cuba: An American History” written by Ada Ferrer (Scribner)
  • Poetry- “frank: sonnets” written by Diane Seuss.
  • Music- “Voiceless Mass” which is written by Raven Chacon.
  • General Notification- “Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival & Hope in an American City” written by Andrea Elliott.

What is the Pulitzer Prize?

Pulitzer Prize is an award that is given for achievements in newspapers, magazines, musical composition, online journalism, and literature. This prize was established in the year 1917 by the provisions that were written in the will of Joseph Pulitzer. Columbia University administers this prize. These prizes are being given annually in 21 categories. In 20 categories, the winners each receive USD 15,000 and a certificate. The winner in the prize’s Public Service Category receives a gold medal.




Latest E-Books