‘PM Atma Nirbhar Swasth Bharat Yojana’- Key Facts

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to visit Uttar Pradesh on October 15, 2021 and launch Pradhan Mantri Atma Nirbhar Swasth Bharat Yojana in Varanasi.

Key Points

  • Earlier on the same day, he inaugurated nine medical colleges in Uttar Pradesh.
  • PM is also set to inaugurate several development projects worth more than Rs 5200 crore for Varanasi.

About Prime Minister Atma Nirbhar Swasth Bharat Yojana (PMASBY)

PMASBY is going to be one of the largest pan-India schemes to strengthen healthcare infrastructure across India. This scheme is being launched in addition to the National Health Mission. It is a central sector scheme, that targets for building an IT enabled disease surveillance system by means of developing a network of surveillance laboratories at national, regional, district and block levels.

Objective of PMASBY

PMASBY will be launched with the objective of filling critical gaps in public health infrastructure, with special focus on critical care facilities & primary care across the urban and rural areas.

Facilities under PMASBY

  • The scheme will be providing support to 17,788 rural Health and Wellness Centres across 10 High Focus States.
  • Under it, around 11,024 urban Health & Wellness Centres will be established across all the States.
  • Critical care services will be made available through Exclusive Critical Care hospitals, in all the districts of India having more than 5 lakh population. Remaining districts will be covered by means of referral services.
  • People will get access to full range of diagnostic services in Public Healthcare system using a network of laboratories in India.
  • Integrated Public Health Labs will be set up under the scheme, in all the districts.

Institutions to be set up under PMASBY

Under PMASBY following institutions would be set up:

  • A National Institution for One Health
  • 4 New National Institutes for Virology
  • 9 Biosafety Level III laboratories
  • Regional Research Platform for WHO South-East Asia Region and
  • 5 New Regional National Centre for Disease Control.




Latest E-Books