Music composer Khayyam wins Hridaynath Award for Lifetime Achievement

Veteran composer, lyricist, writer and national award winning music director Mohammed Zahur Khayyam Hashmi, famously known as Khayya was 2018 Hridaynath Award for Lifetime Achievement. The award will be conferred by Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis in Mumbai. This year, the award ceremony coincides with81st birthday of Hridaynath Mangeshkar after whom award is named.


He had started his music career in Ludhiana in 1943 at age of 17. Later, he had teamed up as Sharma of music-director duo ‘Sharmaji-Varmaji’ to compose music for films like “Heer Ranjha” (1948) and others. His earliest notable solo works were for Footpath (1953), “Biwi” and “Phir Subah Hogi” (1958).  The 1961 blockbuster “Shola Aur Shabnam” had firmly established Khayyam as top-notch music director followed by films with superhit music like Mohabbat Isko Kehta Hain (1965) and Aakhri Khat (1966). Later, he composed music for films like “Kabhi Kabhi” (1976), “Trishul” (1978), “Noorie” (1979), “Thodisi Bewafai” (1980), “Dard” and “Ahista Ahista” (1981), “Dil, Akhir Dil Hai” and “Bazaar”(1982), “Razia Sultan” (1983).  In 1981, he composed music for the sensitive blockbuster film “Umrao Jaan”, which is considered as jewel in crown of Khayyam’s compositions for which he bagged National Award and also Filmfare Award and others.

Hridaynath Mangeshkar Award

The award was established in 2011 by Mumbai-based socio-cultural organisation Hridayesh Art in honour of music composer and singer Hridaynath Mangeskar. It felicitates and recognises successful individuals across country from various walks of life. It carries monetary award of Rs 2 lakh and a memento.
The previous recipients of the award include eminent personalities like Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Bhosle, Amitabh Bachchan, Hariprasad Chaurasia, A R Rahman. Hridaynath Mangeskar is son of renowned musician Deenanath Mangeshkar and is younger brother of Indian music legends Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhosle.




Latest E-Books


  • Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    Congratulations to Mohammed Zahur Khayyam Hashmi.