MHA: No official nomenclature as ‘Martyrs’

On December 8, 2021, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) informed in Rajya Sabha that there was no official nomenclature such as martyrs.


  • Minister of State for Home, Nityanand Rai, in a written reply to the question of ‘whether Government has any plan regarding the status of martyr’, said there is no such official nomenclature.
  • However, Ministry of Home Affairs issued instructions for issuing Operational Casualty Certificate to the next kin of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) and Assam Rifles personnel, killed in action.

Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF)

The Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) refers to seven security forces in India. It works under the authority of Ministry of Home Affairs. The seven security forces under it are:

  1. Assam Rifles (AR)
  2. Border Security Force (BSF)
  3. Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)
  4. Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)
  5. Indo Tibetan Border Police (ITBP)
  6. National Security Guard (NSG)
  7. Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB)

The Assam Rifles

The Assam Rifles was established in the year 1835, as a militia called the ‘Cachar Levy’. It was set up for protecting British Tea estates and their settlements against tribal raids. The Assam Rifles contributed in opening the region to commerce and administration. Over time, they came to be called as “right arm of the civil and left arm of the military”.

Dual Control Structure

Assam Rifles is the only paramilitary force, having a dual control structure. The administrative control of the force is with Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) while its operational control is with the Indian Army, which comes under Ministry of Defence (MoD). Thus, salaries & infrastructure for the force is provided by MHA. While deployment, posting, transfer & deputation of the personnel is decided by Indian Army.




Latest E-Books