Messi, Rapinoe won the 2019 Ballon d’Or

The 64th edition of the Ballon d’Or was held in Paris on 2nd, December 2019.

Men’s- Out of 28 players nominated on 6th November 2019, Lionel Messi won the award for a record sixth time in his career having won previously in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Lionel Messi won by 686 votes, followed by Dutch center back Virgil Van Djik with 679 votes in second place and Cristiano Ronaldo with 476 votes making the top three in the list.

Women- United States Midfielder, Megan Anna Rapinoe won the 2019 Ballon d’Or Feminin.

Megan Rapinoe also won this year’s Best FIFA Women’s Player of the year award.


The Ballon d’Or ( means Golden Ball in French) is a prestigious football award presented by the France Football since 1956. The 63- year old award is presented every year with the Argentine Footballer Lionel Messi winning it the most number of 6 times to date.



Latest E-Books