J&K Delimitation Commission- Extension of Term

The Central Government, for the second time, has extended Jammu & Kashmir Delimitation Commission’s term. This commission was given the task of redrawing the Union Territories’ assembly constituencies.


  • The term of this commission has been extended for two months and will end on May 6.
  • The delimitation process plays a crucial role in kickstarting Jammu & Kashmir’s political process.
  • Election process is to be held in the Union Territory after the completion of the Delimitation process.
  • The Delimitation Commission was set up on 6th March 2020.
  • The commission is headed by retired Supreme Court judge Ranjana Prakash Desai.
  • The commission was already granted a one-year extension the last year.
  • The number of Assembly seats in J&K would increase from 107 to 114 under the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill, which will benefit the Jammu area.

Members of the Delimitation Commission

Along with Desai, ex-officio members of the panel are Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra and J&K State Election Commissioner KK Sharma. The panel also consists of five associate members: National Conference MPs Mohammad Akbar Lone, Farooq Abdullah, and Hasnain Masoodi, BJP MP Jugal Kishore Sharma, and Union Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office Jitendra Singh. The panel, in its report, recommended an overhaul of assembly and Lok Sabha constituencies in the UT, which is shared with its five associated members.

To whom was the report shared?

The National Conference’s Abdullah, Hasnain Masoodi, and Akbar Lone (Lok Sabha MPs) and the BJP’s Jitendra Singh and Jugal Kishore (Lok Sabha MPs) received the report and their opinions were asked for.

When is the final report expected?

After the submission of the views and objections of Abdullah, Hasnain Masoodi, Akbar Lone, Jitendra Singh, and Jugal Kishore a final report is expected. The report has ignored the National Conference’s objections to the proposal of raising the assembly seats in the Jammu region by six against one in the Kashmir region.




Latest E-Books