ICMR head wins Dr. Lee Jong-wook Prize for Public Health

Professor Balram Bhargava, Director General of Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) jointly won the 2019 Dr Lee Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health at the 72nd World Health Assembly in Geneva, Switzerland.

He won the award for his achievements as an innovator, clinician, researcher and trainer.

About Dr Lee Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health

  • It was established in 2008.
  • Awarded to: institutions, individuals, governmental organizations and nongovernmental organizations (NGOs), who have made an outstanding contribution towards public health.
  • Objective: Prize aims to reward work the done that has extended far beyond the call of normal duties. It is not intended as a reward for excellent performance of duties normally expected of an official position of a governmental or intergovernmental institution.
  • It is an annual award which is conferred at a special ceremony held during the World Health Assembly.
  • Cash Prize: It consists of a plaque from Founder and a sum of money which will not exceed US$ 100 000.



Latest E-Books