Drone Certification Scheme

On January 26, 2022, Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA) notified a drone certification scheme for ensuring minimum safety and quality requirements, because it will boost indigenous manufacturing.

Drone Certification Scheme

  • The drone certification scheme was notified under Rule 7 of the liberalized Drone Rules, 2021. The scheme will help in simpler, faster and transparent type-certification of drones.
  • It will help in growth of drone manufacturing industry in India, along with the liberalised drone rules, production-linked incentive scheme, airspace map, and single window Digital Sky Platform.
  • It is another step in making India a drone hub of the world by 2030.

PLI Scheme for drones

  • The Ministry of Civil Aviation had approved the PLI scheme for drones in September 2021. It also approved the drone components with an allocation of Rs 120 crore, for three financial years.
  • The PLI scheme was launched as a follow-through of the liberalised Drone Rules, 2021, which was released by ministry on August 25, 2021.

Certification Criteria in certification scheme

The certification criteria mentioned in drone certification scheme (DCS) will be applicable to indigenous drone manufacturers, importers as well as assemblers.

Objective of Drone Certification Scheme

The Drone Certification Scheme was launched with the objective of providing minimum requirements for airworthiness, safety and security requirements for drones. The scheme also seeks to enable their evaluation for certification.

Who will oversee the scheme?

A multi-stakeholder steering committee (MSC) chaired by a known professional, will oversee the certification scheme, in association with the Quality Control of India (QCI). The MSC will also be supported by a certification committee and a technical committee, constituted by the QCI.

Quality Council of India (QCI)

QCI was set up as an autonomous body in 1997. It was setup jointly by government of India and Indian Industry represented by three industry associations, namely Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India (ASSOCHAM), Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) and Confederation of Indian Industry (CII). It was set up with the aim of establishing and operating national accreditation structure and promoting quality through National Quality Campaign.




Latest E-Books