Categorisation of Farmers

In agriculture Census, the operational holdings are categorised in five size classes as shown below:

  • Marginal: Below 1.00 hectare.
  • Small: 1.00-2.00 hectare.
  • Semi- Medium: 2.00-4.00 hectare.
  • Medium: 4.00-10.00 hectare.
  • Large: 10.00 hectare and above.

The India Rural Development Report 2012-13 prepared by the IDFC Rural Development Network notes that Small farms are more efficient, especially in cultivating labour-intensive crops or tending livestock, but land holdings are too small to generate sufficient household income.
To improve the condition of Small and Marginal farmers and to double the income of farmers by 2022, Government is realigning its interventions from the production-centric approach to farmers’ income-centric initiatives, with focus on better and new technological solutions.
The interventions  include implementation of schemes like, Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchai Yojana (PMKSY), Paramparagat Krishi Vikas Yojana (PKVY), Soil Health Card, Neem Coated Urea, Rainfed Area Development under National Mission for Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA), Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY), National Agriculture Market scheme (e-NAM), National Food Security Mission (NFSM), National Mission on Oilseeds & Oil palm (NMOOP), Mission for Integrated Development of Horticulture (MIDH), Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY), National Mission on Agriculture Extension & Technology (NMAET).




Latest E-Books