Who has been selected for the prestigious 2016 Jnanpith Award?
[A]Kedarnath Singh
[B]Ravuri Bharadhwaja
[C]Chandrashekhara Kambara
[D]Shankha Ghosh

Shankha Ghosh
Shankha Ghosh, the well-known Bengali poet, critic and academician, has been selected for the prestigious 52nd edition of the Jnanpith Award (2016) by the Government of India (GoI) for his poetic idiom and experiments with various poetic forms mark his greatness as a creative talent. With this, Ghosh has become the 6th Bengali author to win India’s highest literary award after Mahasweta Devi, Tarashankar Bandopadhyay, Ashapurna Devi, Subhash Mukhopadhyay and Bishnu Dey. The Jnanpith Award is presented every year to a literary figure for their outstanding contribution in literature. The award carries a citation, prize money of Rs. 12 lakh and a bronze replica of Goddess Saraswati.