Universal Immunization Programme

Immunization Programme is one of the key interventions for protection of children from life threatening conditions, which are preventable.

Under the Universal Immunization Programme Government of India is providing vaccination to prevent seven vaccine preventable diseases i.e. Diphtheria, Pertussis, Tetanus, Polio, Measles, severe form of Childhood Tuberculosis and Hepatitis B. The vaccination schedule is as under:

  • BCG (Bacillus Calmette Guerin) 1 dose at Birth (upto 1 year if not given earlier)
  • DPT (Diphtheria, Pertussis and Tetanus Toxoid) 5 doses; Three primary doses at 6,10,14 weeks and two booster doses at 16-24 months & 5 Years of age
  • OPV (Oral Polio Vaccine) 5 doses; 0 dose at birth, three primary doses at 6,10 and 14 weeks and one booster dose at 16-24 months of age
  • Hepatitis B vaccine 4 doses; 0 dose within 24 hours of birth and three doses at 6, 10 and 14 weeks of age.
  • Measles 2 doses; first dose at 9-12 months and second dose at 16-24months of age
  • TT (Tetanus Toxoid) 2 doses at 10 years and 16 years of age
  • TT – for pregnant woman two doses or one dose if previously vaccinated within 3 Year

Since 2006, 1 dose of SA-14-14-2 JE vaccine has been introduced under routine immunization in the high burden districts in phased manner.

All the States / UTs are asked to prepare their own State Programme Implementation Plan (PIP) for Immunization as part ‘C’ of NRHM PIP from the year 2005-06 to address specific needs.


  • Sachin Kumar Agrawal

    Excellent Work..

  • Meera

    Thanks…for the info…

  • reshma