Membership at UNHRC

Members of the UNHRC are elected to three-year terms. The first election of members was held on 9 May 2006. The members of the General Assembly elect the members who occupy the UNHRC’s forty-seven seats. The term of each seat is three years, and no member may occupy a seat for more than two consecutive terms. The seats are distributed among the UN’s regional groups as follows: 13 for Africa, 13 for Asia, 6 for Eastern Europe, 8 for Latin America and the Caribbean, and 7 for the Western European and Others Group.

India: India was 2007 Group and elected for second time in 2010 group.

Video from our Channel

Random Articles