Jamnalal Bajaj Foundation Awards -2009

Jamnalal Bajaj Foundation was established in 1976 for promoting Gandhian constructive programmes and assisting constructive workers who devoted themselves to the national cause. The foundation has instituted four annual awards, each carrying a cash prize of Rs. 500,000/- or its equivalent in foreign currency, a citation and a trophy.
The awards are intended to recognise outstanding contribution in –
  1. Constructive work
  2. Application of science and technology for rural development
  3. Upliftment and welfare of women and children and/or Gandhian constructive work by women workers
  4. Promotion of Gandhian values outside India by individuals other than Indian citizens

Note: On the occasion of the Jamnalal Bajaj Birth Centenary, the foundation conferred on Dr. Nelson Mandela, a Special Award of Rs. 500,000, a citation and a specially sculptured trophy. It was presented on 18 October 1990.

32nd Jamnalal Bajaj Foundation honours winners – 2009
The following are the winners

  1. Shri Lavanam, Atheist Centre, Vijayawala, Andhra Pradesh, for outstanding Contribution in field of Constructive Work,
  2. Ayyappa Masagi for Water Literacy Foundation, Dr Jaya Arunachalam for Development and Welfare of Women & Children
  3. Reverend Father Charles Peter Dougherty for Promoting Gandhian Values outside India.