The first programme on Oilseeds was launched in 1986 as Technology Mission on Oilseeds (TMO). The core idea was to increase the production and productivity of oilseeds to make the country self-reliant in this vital sector. Later Pulses, Oil Palm & Maize were brought in its ambit in the 1990s. The scheme was later restructured in 2004 as Integrated Scheme of OilSeeds, Pulses,Oilpalm and Maize (ISOPOM).


It is being implemented in 14 states of the country for oilseeds & pulses as follows:

Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.


Under ISOPOM, maize development programmes are under implementation in 15 states, i.e., Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, J&K, Tamil Nadu, U.P., and West Bengal.

Oil Palm:

Under ISOPOM Oil Palm , the programme is being implemented in the 8 states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Goa, Orissa, Kerala, and Mizoram.

  • To provide further impetus to the production of pulses and oilseeds, the pulses component of Integrated Scheme on Oilseeds, Pulses, Oil palm & Maize (ISOPOM) has been merged with National Food Security Mission and an Accelerated Pulse Production Programme (A3P) has been launched recently for integrated development of 60000 pulses and oilseeds villages in the rained areas of the country.
  • India’s Oil Seed Production:
  • The following table shows the Oil Seed Production in India.

Video from our Channel

Random Articles