Inner Line Permit System

Inner Line Permit is an official travel document issued by GOI to allow inward travel of an Indian citizen into a protected/restricted/disputed area for a limited period.

I It is obligatory for Indian citizens from outside those States to obtain permit for entering into the protected State.

The document is an effort by the government to regulate movement to certain areas located near the trans-boundary border of India. This is a security measure and it is applicable States Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland. One requires producing the passport and visa in original to the competent authority to get ILP. Depending on the nature of visitors the issuing authorities varies for ILP. Nationals of Pakistan, Bangladesh, China and Myanmar can be given Inner Line Permits only after approval from the Ministry of Home Affairs. Permits to foreign diplomats and members of United Nations and International Organisations holding diplomatic/official passports are issued only at Delhi by the Ministry of External Affairs.