Aarhus Convention

Formal name of the Aarhus Convention is UNECE Convention on Access to Information, Public Participation in Decision-making and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters. It was signed in 1998 in the Danish city of Aarhus and entered into force in 2001. It is ratified by 41 countries which include the EU members and Central Asian Countries.

  • The most notable feature enshrined in EU legislations based upon this treaty is Water Framework Directive.

Aarhus Convention grants the public rights regarding access to information, public participation and access to justice, in governmental decision-making processes on matters concerning the local, national and Transboundary environment.

Video from our Channel

Random Articles


  • sarath reddy

    hello sir,
    i am preparing for the assistent conservator of forests exam AP.
    my optional is environmental science.i have exam on 8/4/2012..plz provide some current data and also multiple choice questions for practice..
    thank you sir..

  • Sapna

    Plz provide multiple choice question – answer based on current data for practice.

    Thank you