What is 5-star ‘Eat Right Station’ certification?

On September 2, 2021, Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) awarded a 5-star ‘Eat Right Station’ certification to the Chandigarh Railway Station.


  • This certification was awarded for providing high-quality, nutritious food to passengers.
  • It was awarded the certification after the conclusion of an FSSAI-empanelled third-party audit agency with ratings from 1 to 5.
  • 5-star rating indicates exemplary efforts made by stations in ensuring that safe and hygienic food is available to passengers.

Which body is responsible for food supply?

Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation (IRSDC) is the body responsible for food supply to the Railways. It also looks after the upgradation of railway stations. IRSDC has selected the Chandigarh Railway station to upgrade it on the line of World Class Railway Station.

Eat Right Station certification

The ‘Eat Right Station Certification’ was the part of the ‘Eat Right India’ movement. It is a large-scale effort made by FSSAI to transform food system in India in order to ensure safe, healthy and sustainable food for all Indians. As per IRSDC, Eat Right India adopts a mix of regulatory, capacity building, collaborative, and empowerment approaches in ensuring that the food is suitable both for people as well as planet.

Which stations have got this certification?

Chandigarh Railway Station has become the fifth station in India to receive this certification. Other stations with this certification include- Anand Vihar Terminal Railway Station in Delhi, Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus in Mumbai, Mumbai Central Railway Station in Mumbai and Vadodara Railway Station in Vadodara.




Latest E-Books