Vijay Kumar Choudhary elected as Bihar assembly Speaker

Senior Janta Dal United (JDU) leader Vijay Kumar Chaudhary has been elected as new Speaker of Bihar legislative assembly.
The pro-tem Speaker and Congress MLA Sadanand Singh had announced election of Mr. Chaudhary as the new Speaker.
He was elected unanimously after all parties supported his candidature including main opposition Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP).
Mr.Chaudhary is a five time MLA and represents Sarai Ranjan assembly constituency of Samastipur district and is a close associate of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar
Previously in Bihar Legislative Assembly, he had severed as JDU Leader of Legislature Party. He also had served as the Minister for Water Resources, Agriculture and Information & Public Relations Departments in the cabinet under Nitish Kumar.
During his stint as a legislator from 1982 to 1995, he had served as the Deputy Chairman of Bihar State Industrial Development Corporation (BSIDC).



Latest E-Books