Vijai Sharma appointed as new Chief Information Commissioner

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Vijai Sharma as Chief Information Commissioner.
He will have tenure of for 5 years or till they attain the age of 65, whichever is earlier.
Vijai Sharma is a 1974 batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh Cadre. Prior to this appointment he was serving as information commissioner in Central Information Commission since 2012.
He has rich work experience in Administration & Governance and Law & Policy in Central and State Governments and United Nations. He also had served as Environment secretary.
Vijai Sharma’s name for Chief Information Commissioner was finalized on June 1, 2015 by selection committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and comprising Union minister Arun Jaitley as well as Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha Mallikarjuna Kharge.

About Central Information Commission

  • The Right To Information (RTI) Act,  2005  provides  for  establishment  of  Central  and  State  information commissioner as a designated statutory authority to receive and inquire into a complaint from any person.
  • The general  superintendence,  direction  and  management  of the affairs  of  the  Commission  are  vested  in  the  Chief Information Commissioner, who is assisted by the Information Commissioners.
  • Under the  CIC,  the  Chief  Information  Commissioner  enjoys complete financial and administrative powers of a Department of the  Government  of  India  except  in  matters relating to the creation of posts,  re-appropriation  and  writing-off  losses  for  which it needs the specific concurrence of the Ministry of Finance.
  • Appointment: The Chief  Information  Commissioner  and  Information  Commissioners are appointed  by  the  President  on  the  recommendation  of  a selection committee comprising of Prime Minister as Chairperson, the leader of single largest opposition party in the Lok Sabha and a Union Cabinet Minister to be nominated by the Prime Minister.
  • Tenure: Chief Information Commissioner and Information Commissioner hold office for a term of 5 years or till he attains the age of 65 years. The Chief Information Commissioner is not eligible for reappointment.
  • Wajahat Habibullah was India’s first Chief Information Commissioner. He was appointed on 26 October 2005.



Latest E-Books