Union Government’s Policy Initiative Development of Industrial / Economic Corridors

Union Government has adopted the strategy of developing integrated industrial/economic corridors across the country in partnership with respective State Governments for boosting industrial development.
This information was given by the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) in the Ministry of Commerce & Industry Nirmala Sitharaman in a written reply in Rajya Sabha.
It was also announced that National Industrial Corridor Development Authority (NICDA) with its headquarter in Pune (Maharashtra) has not been constituted yet.
The five industrial/economic corridors are

  • Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC): The project spans the 6 states viz. Maharashtra, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh.
  • This corridor lies along the Western Dedicated Freight Corridor (DFC) of the railways. It would initially have 8 nodes (cities) in the six DMIC states for development purpose.
  • Chennai-Bengaluru Industrial Corridor (CBIC): It has three industrial nodes (cities) viz. Ponneri (Tamil Nadu), Tumkur (Karnataka) and Krishnapatnam (Andhra Pradesh).
  • Bengaluru-Mumbai Economic Corridor (BMEC): One node (city) has been identified for master planning viz. Dharwad (Karnataka).
  • Vizag-Chennai Industrial Corridor (VCIC): Two nodes (cities) for master planning have been identified. They are Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh) and Srikalahasti-Yerpedu (Andhra Pradesh).
  • Amritsar-Kolkata Industrial Corridor (AKIC): Feasibility study with respect to the Inception Report of this corridor has been completed.



Latest E-Books