Union Government shortlist 13 Cities for Smart Cities Mission in 2nd batch

The Union Ministry of Urban Development has shortlisted 13 cities from 13 States/UTs in the list of second batch of Smart Cities Mission.
These cities were shortlisted based on scores obtained in Fast Track competition conducted for 23 cities from as many States and Union Territories.
This competition list was topped by Lucknow in Uttar Prades and was followed by Warangal in Telangana and Dharmashala in Himachal Pradesh.
In the Fast Track competition, 23 cities had participated from which these 13 were selected. These 23 cities were having the highest ranking and had failed to get representation in the first round of competition held in January 2016.
13 shortlisted smart cities (Rank wise) are

  • Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh).
  • Warangal (Telanagana).
  • Dharmashala (Himachal Pradesh).
  • Chandigarh (UT of Chandigarh).
  • Raipur (Chattisgarh).
  • New Town Kolkata (West Bengal).
  • Bhagalpur (Bihar).
  • Panaji (Goa).
  • Port Blair (UT of Andaman & Nicobar Islands).
  • Imphal (Manipur).
  • Ranchi (Jharkhand).
  • Agartala (Tripura).
  • Faridabad (Haryana).

For more details: In the first batch of Smart Cities Mission, 20 smart cities were announced in January 2016.



Latest E-Books