Union Government renames Planning Commission as 'Neeti Ayog'

Union government has renamed Planning commission as National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog.
The renaming of the Planning Commission is being seen as the first step towards replacing it with a new-age institution.

Key Facts about  National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog

  • It will serve as a ‘Think Tank’ of the government i.e. a directional and policy dynamo.
  • It will also provide governments at the central and state levels with relevant strategic and technical advice across the spectrum of key elements of policy formulation.
  • This includes matters of national and international import on the economic front, dissemination of best practices from within the country as well as from other nations, the infusion of new policy ideas and specific issue-based support

It will work towards the following objectives

  • Evolve a shared vision of national development priorities
  • Foster cooperative federalism
  • Develop mechanisms to formulate credible plans at the village level
  • Focus on technology upgradation, among other things.


  • Chairperson– Prime Minister.
  • Governing Council– It will consist of- Chief Ministers (of States) and Lt. Governors (of Union Territories).
  • Regional Council- It will be formed on need basis. It will compromise Chief Ministers (of States) and Lt. Governors (of Union Territories).
  • Vice-Chairperson- To be appointed by the Prime Minister.
  • Members– Full time Basis.
  • Part time members– Maximum of 2. They will from leading universities research organizations and other relevant institutions on a rotational basis.
  • Ex Officio members- Maximum of 4 members of the Union Council of Ministers to be nominated by the Prime Minister.
  • Special invitees- They will be nominated by the Prime Minister and will be experts, specialists and practitioners with relevant domain knowledge as special invitees.
  • Chief Executive Officer- Appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed tenure, in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India.
  • Secretariat– If deemed necessary.

Government’s decision comes after the Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s 2014 Independence Day announcement that the Planning Commission would be replaced with a new-age institution.
Earlier, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 7th December 2014 had held consultation meeting with Chief Ministers of states, where most CM’s had favoured restructuring of the Socialist-era planning body. However, some Congress Chief Ministers opposed disbanding of the existing set-up.
You may read more about Planning commission hereBack Ground of Planned Development in India, Planning Commission and National Development Council



Latest E-Books