Union Cabinet gives nod to 6 new IIMs

Union Cabinet has approved setting up 6 new Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs) in the country.
Decision in this regard was taken Union Cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi. Now the total strength of IIMs increases to 19 from 13.
These new IIMs will be located at Bodh Gaya (Bihar), Vishakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh), Nagpur (Maharashtra), Sirmaur (Himachal Pradesh), Amritsar (Punjab) and Sambalpur (Odisha).
These IIMs will begin functioning from temporary campuses and their first academic session will commence from 2015-16 with an intake of 140 students in the Post Graduate Programme (PGP) courses. The students will be get admissions to these institutes through Common Aptitude Test (CAT).
In Union Budget 2015, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had announced a proposal for the setting up of five new IIMs in the country.  Apart from them an additional IIM was also proposed for Andhra Pradesh in line with Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.



Latest E-Books