UNESCO world heritage status to Mount Fuji and Mount Etna

The World Heritage Committee of the UNESCO, which recently held a meeting in Cambodia, has granted World Heritage status to Japan’s cone-shaped, snow-topped volcano, Mount Fuji. The mountain has been selected as a “cultural” rather than a “natural” heritage site. As per UNESCO, Mount Fuji has “inspired artists and poets and been the object of pilgrimage for centuries”.
Italy’s 3,300-meter (10,900-foot) Mount Etna, Europe’s most active volcano, has also been conferred the World Heritage status for its natural assets. As per UNESCO, Mount Etna has “notoriety, scientific importance and cultural and education value of global significance.”
About Mount Fuji:

  • Japan’s highest mountain at 3,776m (12,460 ft)
  • Located in south-west of Tokyo
  • Last erupted 300 years ago, visible from Tokyo.
  • Finds prominent mentions in Japanese art works.
  • One of the traditional “Three Holy Mountains” – other two are Mount Tate and Mount Haku, both in central Japan.



Latest E-Books