Swadesh Darshan Scheme: Two North East Circuit Projects inaugurated in Arunachal Pradesh

Union Ministry of Tourism has inaugurated two important projects as part of Development of North East Circuit under Swadesh Darshan Scheme in Arunachal Pradesh. The projects were jointly inaugurated by Union Minister of State (IC) Tourism,K J Alphons, and Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu.

Key Facts

Bhalukpong- Bomdila – Tawang Project: It was sanctioned by Ministry of Tourism in March 2015. Under it, Ministry has developed facilities like Accommodation, Cafeteria, wayside Amenities, last Mile Connectivity, Pathways, Toilets, Multipurpose Hall at Lumpo, Zemithang, Bumla Pass, Jang, Sorang Monastery, Gritsang TSO lake, PTSO Lake, Lumla, Sela Lake and Thingbu and Grenkha Hot Spring.
Nafra- Seppa- Pappu, Pasa, Pakke Valleys- Sangdupota- New Sagalee- Ziro- Yomcha Project: It was sanctioned in December 2015. The facilities developed under it includes wayside amenities, helipad, trekking trails, log huts, craft bazaar, rafting centre, eco-park, tourist facilitation centres, parking, multipurpose hall, festival ground etc.

Swadesh Darshan scheme

It was launched by Union Tourism Ministry in 2015 with objective to develop theme-based tourist circuits in the country. These tourist circuits developed will be developed under on principles of high tourist value, competitiveness and sustainability in integrated manner.
Under this scheme, Government is focusing on development of quality infrastructure with objective of providing better experience and facilities to visitors on one hand and on other hand fostering economic growth.
It is 100% centrally funded scheme for project components undertaken for public funding. It also has provision for leveraging voluntary funding under Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) initiatives of Central Public Sector Undertakings and corporate sector.
13 thematic circuits have been identified for development bnder this scheme. They are Buddhist Circuit, North-East India Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Heritage Circuit.
The funding of projects under this scheme varies from state to state. It is finalised on basis of detailed project reports prepared by Programme Management Consultant (PMC) which is national level consultant for implementing scheme. So far, Tourism Ministry has sanctioned 73 projects worth projects for Rs. 5873.99 crore to 30 States and UTs under this scheme.



Latest E-Books


  • chhotelal bairwa

    I liked

  • chhotelal bairwa

    I liked