Sunil Gangopadhyay Awards 2012 & 2013

President Pranab Mukherjee bestowed the Sunil Gangopadhyay Memorial Award for Excellence in Bengali Literature for 2012 and 2013 upon eminent poet and litterateur Nirendranath Chakravarty and Sankha Ghosh at the Raj Bhavan in Kolkata. The award was instituted in 2012 by ‘The Bengal’, a Kolkata-based NGO. 

About Sunil Gangopadhyay

Born: September 7, 1934

Died: October 24, 2012

  • Known for his poems and novels in both West Bengal and Bangladesh.
  • Used the pen names Nil Lohit, Sanatan Pathak, and Nil Upadhyay.
  • His wrote thriller ‘Kakababu’ series which became very popular among children and teenagers.
  • Famous filmmaker Satyajit Ray had made two films ‘Pratidwandi and Aranyer Din Ratri’ based on Gangopadhyay’s novels.
  • He received Sahitya Akademi award in 1985 for his novel Sei Somoy.

He was elected the President of Sahitya Akademi in 2008.




Latest E-Books