Special provisions for the states in the North East

While the abrogation of Article 370 which provided special privileges to the state of Jammu and Kashmir, the spotlight has now shifted to Article 371 which provides the special provisions to the North Eastern States.

The North-Eastern states have been granted special privileges under Article 371 which provides a special status that aims to preserve their tribal heritage.

What do the laws provide?

  • Nagaland: Article 371(A) specifies that no act of the Indian Parliament will be applicable to the State of Nagaland if it is implemented in respect of the religious or social practices of the Naga people.
  • Any Indian law is not applicable if the for the customary law and procedure, administration of civil and criminal justice involving decisions according to Naga customary law and ownership and transfer of land and its resources.
  • Article 371(B) – State of Assam.
  • Article 371(C)- State of Manipur.
  • Article 371(F) – State of Sikkim.
  • Article 371(H) – State of Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Article 371(G) – State of Mizoram.

Article 371(G)

Similar to Article 371(A), Article 371(G) related to the Mizoram, all acts of the Indian parliament related to Mizo way of living will apply only after the consent of the Mizoram Assembly.



Latest E-Books