Sourav Ganguly set to be new BCCI president

Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly is all set to become the new president of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) with elections unlikely to be held at BCCI’s Annual General Meeting on October 23. He defeated Brijesh Patel in a see-saw battle and is expected to be the only presidential nominee.

The 47-year-old Sourav Ganguly currently holds the presidency of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB). He will have to demit his post in September 2020 due to a compulsory cooling-off period.

Key Highlights

In an informal setting held in Mumbai, all the BCCI members came together in a unanimous stand against Supreme Court Committee of Administrators’ (COA) functioning, and signalled their return to the corridors of Indian cricket administration by choosing Sourav Ganguly to be next president of BCCI.

At the meet, two powerful lobbies, one backed by Anurag Thakur and another by N Srinivasan, pushed for their candidate Sourav Ganguly and Brijesh Patel respectively, to be appointed next BCCI president.

It was later agreed that Sourav Ganguly would become hold the next BCCI presidency while Karnataka’s Brijesh Patel would now take over as chairman of IPL Governing Council.

About Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)

It is the national governing body for cricket in India that was formed in December 1928. It was established as a society and registered under Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act.

Organisation Structure: BCCI will have a nine-member apex council. It will constitute of- President, vice-president, secretary, joint secretary, treasurer, a male and a female representative of cricketers’ association, a representative from central government and a representative from IPL Governing Council .

Other Recent Appointments:

Gujarat’s Jay Shah, son of Union Home minister Amit Shah, is likely to be secretary while Himachal Pradesh’s Arun Singh Thakur is likely to become treasurer. Devajit Saikia from Assam Cricket Association is in contention to be Board’s joint secretary.

Former India opener Anshuman Gaekwad has been elected as male representative of cricketers association while former India women’s captain Shantha Rangaswamy has been elected female representative of cricketers’ association and former Delhi cricketer Surinder Khanna will be the IPL Governing Council representative at Council.




Latest E-Books


  • Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    Sourav Ganguly is a born leader.