Semaandhra people to search for fourth capital in 60 years

In case the division of Andhra Pradesh goes through, the people of the newly created Andhra state, which will include the Rayalseema region, will have to search for their fourth capital city in the last 60 years. The creation of the new capital will cost government dearly as according to rough estimates, the government will have to spend a minimum of Rs. 3 lakh crore for creating and developing the State headquarters.

Which places have been the capital of Andhra in past?

Till 1953: Madras was the capital of Telugu-speaking areas of Andhra and Rayalaseema under the integrated Madras Presidency.

On October 1, 1953: The State of Andhra was constituted as per the recommendations of the States Reorganisation Commission and Kurnool (now in Rayalaseema) was declared its capital.

On November 1, 1956: Hyderabad was declared the capital of the present Andhara Pradesh formed by the merger of State of Andhra and the State of Hyderabad (Telugu speaking areas under the Nizam rule).

Now, with the declaration made for forming Telangana State, the Seemandhra people will have no choice but again to search for a new capital city and the names/cities doing rounds include Ongole, Guntur, Vijayawada and Visakhapatnam. As proposed, Hyderabad would be joint capital for Andhra Pradesh and Telangana for only 10 years and after that it would go to Telangana.



Latest E-Books