M Sathiyavathy appointed as member of UPSC

Labour Secretary M Sathiyavathy took charge as member of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). She was administered oath of office and secrecy as member by  Vinay Mittal, Chairman, UPSC.
Sathiyavathy is IAS Officer of 1982 batch of AGMUT Cadre. She has rich and varied experience and has worked in various key positions under the Government during the course of a long career spanning over 35 years.
She has held several important positions in Central Government including first woman chief of Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA). She also had served as Joint DG in Directorate General of Foreign Trade, Ministry of Commerce & Industry, Controller, ISRO Satellite Centre, Department of Space, Member Secretary, Central Silk Board, Ministry of Textiles.


UPSC is a constitutional body that conducts the prestigious civil services examination. It has been established under Article 315 of the Constitution of India and consists of a Chairman and ten Members, who are appointed and removed by President. The chairman and members of the Commission hold office for a term of six years or until they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Article 316 of Constitution deals with appointment and term of office of members.




Latest E-Books