Rajya Sabha passes Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Second Amendment) Bill, 2019

Rajya Sabha passed the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Second Amendment) Bill, 2019 on 12 December 2019 by voice vote. The bill seeks to amend Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950 to include three tribes namely– Parivara, Talwara and Siddi community of Dharwad and Belagavi districts, in the list of Scheduled Tribes in Karnataka. The bill was introduced by Tribal Affairs Minister of State Renuka Singh Saruta in Upper House.

Key Features of Bill

The tribal and tribal communities which are deemed to be Scheduled Tribes (STs) are specified in the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950. Thus the Bill amends Part VI of the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order, 1950 which specifies the Scheduled Tribes in Karnataka.

Bills amends the Order by substituting- (1) ‘Siddi (in Uttar Kannada district)’ with ‘Siddi (in Belagavi, Dharwad and Uttar Kannada districts)’; (2) ‘Naikda, Nayaka’ with ‘Naikda, Nayaka (including Parivara and Talawara)’. Currently, the Siddi tribe of Uttar Kannada district alone is included in list.




Latest E-Books