Rachna Khaira bestowed with 2019 RedInk Award for ‘Journalist of Year’

Rachna Khaira of The Tribune has bagged the prestigious RedInk Award for ‘Journalist of the Year’ for her expose during 2018 on the functioning of the UIDAI and its Aadhaar data cache. The Mumbai Press Club, which has instituted the RedInk Awards for Excellence in Journalism, has bestowed the coveted Lifetime Achievement Award 2019 jointly to two retired senior journalists Dinu Ranadive (94), who retired as the chief reporter of Maharashtra Times, and photojournalist Sebastian D’Souza, who had served as photo editor of Mumbai Mirror. Ranadive started his career as the founder-editor of the “Samyukta Maharashtra Patrika”in the 1950s, which had a lasting impact in the movement for the unification of Maharashtra as a state based on language. He had also covered the Goa freedom struggle in 1961, the Bangladesh war in 1970-71 and broke stories on cement scandal of 1982. D’Souza had achieved acclaim for his photographs that captured the Lashkar-e-Taiba terror attack on Mumbai on November 26, 2008.


Latest E-Books