President Pranab Mukherjee approves names of four new judges of Supreme Court

President Pranab Mukherjee has approved names of four new judges for Supreme Court by signing their warrants of appointment as per Article 124 of Constitution.
These include 3 chief justices of high court and one senior advocate.  They will sworn-in later in May 2016. With this, the judicial strength of the Supreme Court will move up to 28 of the total sanctioned strength of 31.
Recommended names are

  • Justice A M Khanwilkar: He is Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court.
  • Justice D Y Chandrachud: He is Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court.
  • Justice Ashok Bhushan: He is Chief Justice of Kerala High Court.
  • L Nageswara Rao: He is senior advocate and former Additional Solicitor General.

The Supreme Court Collegium headed by Chief Justice of India (CJI) TS Thakur had recommended their names. They are the first appointments to the Supreme Court since the National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC) Act was declared unconstitutional by the apex court in October 2015 and had restored the collegium system of judicial appointments.



Latest E-Books