Palau becomes 76th nation to join International Solar Alliance

Palau, an archipelago of more than 500 islands in Oceania, has become 76th signatory country to join the International Solar Alliance (ISA). The agreement was opened for signature during COP22 (22nd Conference of the Parties) at Marrakech, Morocco on 15 November 2016.

Countries which have signed agreement until now include India, United Kingdom (UK), Japan, France, Australia, United Arab Emirates (UAE), amongst others.

About International Solar Alliance

ISA is a group of 121 solar resource-rich nations. It was jointly launched by India and France on November 2015 on side lines of COP21 UN Climate Change Conference held at Paris.

It is headquartered at campus of National Institute of Solar Energy (NISE) in Gurugram, India.

As per United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), the organisation aims to deploy more than 1,000 gigawatts of solar energy and mobilise over $1,000 billion into solar power by 2030.

In November 2018, Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi gave ex-post facto approval for moving a resolution in 1st assembly of ISA for amending its Framework Agreement so as to enable membership for all member countries of UN.

Way Ahead

Inclusion of United Nation members to ISA will put solar energy in global agenda with universal appeal for developing and deploying solar energy. Moreover expanding membership will also lead to ISA initiative benefitting world at large.



Latest E-Books