National Safety Council’s NSCI Safety Awards 2016 presented to 70 Organisations

Minister of State (IC) for Labour & Employment Bandaru Dattatreya awarded NSCI Safety Awards 2016 to 70 Organisations at a function held in New Delhi. In addition, 12 client organizations from Construction Sector were also awarded. The Award was granted to the organisations under four categories:

  • SarvaShreshtha Suraksha Puraskar,
  • Shreshtha Suraksha Puraskar,
  • Suraksha Puraskar
  • PrashansaPatra.

In Manufacturing Sector, Indian Oil’s Digboi refinery, National Fertilizers, Panipat, and NPCIL, Kaiga Generating Station 3 and 4, Karnataka, are the winners.
In Construction Sector, Godrej & Boyce Mfg. Co. Ltd. And L&T Ltd., Rawatbhata, Chittorgarh has been selected for its works on NPCIL Atomic Power Project, Rajasthan.
In MSME Sector, Electricals & Electronics, Thane, has won SarvaShreshtha Suraksha Puraskar for the year 2016.
Interestingly, none of the winners witnessed any fatal accident during the 3-year assessment period. More specifically, National Fertilizers Ltd. Panipat has achieved a massive 49.67 million accident-free man-hours spread over 11 years and 5 months.
The Government framed the National Policy on Occupational Safety, Health and Environment in 2009. As many changes have taken place in national as well as international arena, the government has constituted an Inter-Ministerial Committee to review the national policy.

National Safety Council

It is a self-supporting non- profit autonomous society coming under the purview of Ministry of Labour and Employment. It has been conducting award schemes for three sectors- Manufacturing Sector since 1998; Construction Sector from 2005 and Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises from 2009.
The main objective of the NSCI award scheme is to recognise organisations that have made meritorious performance in achieving occupational safety and health (OSH) and implemented effective OSH management systems, practices and procedures.




Latest E-Books