Mother Teresa to be canonised as Saint

Mother Teresa, a Roman Catholic religious sister and missionary will be elevated to Sainthood i.e. will be made a saint of the Roman Catholic Church on September 4, 2016.
In this regard, Pope Francis has approved a decree recognising a second miracle attributed to Mother Teresa’s intercession with God.
Earlier in 2003, Mother Teresa was beatified by then late Pope John Paul. Beatification requires one miracle and is the last step before sainthood.
The second miracle of Mother Teresa has been attributed to the intercession which is required for canonisation. It involved the inexplicable healing of a man who was suffering from a deadly brain disease.

 About Mother Teresa

  • Mother Teresa was born as Anjezë Gonxhe Bojaxhiu on 26 August 1910 in Skopje (Now in Macedonia) then part of the Kosovo Vilayet in the Ottoman Empire. She was the founder of Kolkata based Missionaries of Charity that helps poor on the streets of Kolkata.
  • Through the charity organisation, she had spent around 45-years serving the poor, sick, orphaned and dying on the streets of Kolkata.
  • She had died at the age of 87 in 1997 in Kolkata.
  • Awards and Honours: Ramon Magsaysay Award (1962), Padma Shri (1962), Nobel Peace Prize (1979), Bharat Ratna (1980) etc.

Canonisation Process
There are different processes used by the Roman Catholic Church and the Eastern Orthodox Church for the canonisation process. Prior to these rules, individuals were recognised as saints without any formal process.
Presently there are four steps of canonisation of the Roman Catholic Church. First is Servant of God followed by Venerable and later is Blessed. Sainthood is the last stage of canonisation.



Latest E-Books