Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh observed their Statehood Day on February 20

The two north-eastern states Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh on Wednesday observed their Statehood Day on February 20.

On the same day in the year 1987, the two states were granted Indian statehood. Mizoram was a part of the state Assam until 1972, the year in which it was made a separate Union Territory. Subsequently, it became the 23rd state of India on February 20, 1987. The North East Frontier Agency was named Arunachal Pradesh and made a union territory in 1972, and then made a state in 1987.


Latest E-Books